RAR.

blog saves the day!

book it

with 4 comments

*****

stack

*****

Back to school, blah blah blah.  Look east coasters, I’ve been wearing corduroys and scarves all summer.  Corduroys.  IN THE SUMMER.  I am not so excited about the change in season and fall fashion and what have you.  For me, September means serious pursuits.  Like reading.  And volunteering.  And re-arranging furniture.  And maybe, maybe buying myself a sweater.  This sweater.  And maybe these shorts.  And this bag and this trench.  But mostly reading.  And drinking lots of red wine.

So I made a list – of the books I hope to have finished by the end of the year.  My odds are not good.  13 books in nearly as many weeks.  The BravoTV-habit is going to take a hit if I’m to get through a Dickens novel and a 650 page history of classical music by Jan. 1.  But it’s all in the name of expanding my intellectual horizons.  Or something.  So while you all are discussing Top Chef at your cocktail parties, I will be in the corner, all by myself, thinking about Schoenberg…

Or more probably, I’ll at the bar.  In my new sweater!

The List!
(subject to change-in no particular order)

  • Hons and Rebels, Jessica Mitford
  • Selected Letters and Journals, Lord Byron
  • Last Evenings on Earth, Roberto Bolano
  • Ooga Booga, Frederick Seidel
  • Our Mutual Friend, Charles Dickens
  • White Buildings, Hart Crane
  • Dust Tracks on a Road, Zora Neale Hurston
  • The Portable Edith Wharton, Edith Wharton
  • The Rest is Noise, Alex Ross
  • Brooklyn, Colm Toibin

Not pictured but soon to be read

  • Names on the Land, George R. Stewart
  • The House of Life, Mario Praz
  • A Princess Remembers, Gayatri Devi

Yikes.  Time to stop blogging and get cracking.

 

Written by rarface

September 2, 2009 at 12:18 pm

Posted in books, clothes

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I heart Schoenberg and that Sweater! Come visit! Bring your books

    mary

    September 2, 2009 at 1:20 pm

  2. you have expensive taste in clothing these days. don’t they have any strawberries out there in san fran that you could shop at?

    Death Kitten

    September 2, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    • no strawberries!! Only spendy shops allowed in SF! Haven’t you heard – our economy is fully recovered and we are free to spend wildly on clothes and reading material.

      rarface

      September 2, 2009 at 1:33 pm

      • well I really like that bag! i will see if I can find a faux leather version at strawberries for you.

        Death Kitten

        September 3, 2009 at 7:27 am


Leave a Reply

