RAR.

blog saves the day!

mid-april book update

with 5 comments

 

Book art returns!  and I’m excited, because I read quiet a few good books in the past month. 

 

not this one

not this one

 

Also, I have rediscovered the joys of construction paper and glue.  Above is my first cut-and-paste cover.  Y’all know how I feel about TGLAPPPS, so I won’t repeat myself here.  I’m just pleased this potato didn’t come out looking like a turd.

 

catch some z

catch some z

  

This book is great!  Brad Pitt thinks so too (he bought the film rights).  It is about Percy Fawcett, one of the first explorers to map the Amazon and is full of action, adventure, killer snakes and crazy insect infestations.  Capital!  Pip pip, etc.! 

 

those are poodles, btw

those are poodles, btw

 

OK, I may need to work on my scissor-skills when it comes to depicting fluffy dogs. 

This is the story of a failed relationship as told through the couple’s posses ions.  Important Artifacts…takes the form of an auction catalog and I found it pleasingly voyeuristic – like digging through the closet of someone you’re house-sitting for or reading your best friend’s diary.  Not that I do that stuff. 

You know who else liked this book?  Brad Pitt.  He’s set to star in the film adaptation with Natalie Portman.

 

splat

splat

 

Gomorrah is an in-depth investigation into the current state of organized crime in Naples.  The author now lives in hiding with constant police protection.    If you are at all interested in the mob or the mafia or contemporary Italy or Aberdeen, Scotland or globalization or the fashion  industry or shipyards or immigration or the fall of communism in Eastern Europe and it’s effects on the illegal market for Kalashnikovs or what Kalashnikov himself has been up to recently, I recommend you read this book.  I don’t know what Brad Pitt thinks about it, but they’ve already made Gomorrah into a movie, so he may have missed the boat.  There is however, a chapter named after Angelina Jolie…

Written by rarface

April 17, 2009 at 11:08 am

Posted in art, books

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can I get a “WTF?!” on the Brad Pitt-Natalie Portman combo? That sh*t makes no sense.

    D.M.

    April 20, 2009 at 11:45 am

  2. D.M. has a computer?

    Sober Capitalist

    April 20, 2009 at 5:50 pm

  3. your poodles look asian

    Death Kitten

    April 28, 2009 at 9:26 am

  4. they are.

    rarface

    April 28, 2009 at 1:14 pm

  5. […] love me a dashboard cover. Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

    case histories « RAR.

    July 13, 2012 at 12:13 pm


Leave a Reply

