RAR.

blog saves the day!

book ends

with 3 comments

I’ve been pretty lax with my reading lately – flitting in and out of books for most of February, taking weeks to finish a 200 page novel.  Reading really embarrassing, really terrible chick lit.  Yet, in accordance with one of my new years resolutions, I’ve been keeping track of all-books-read by quickly sketching or painting or arts-and-crafting versions of their covers.  Here are a few from the last month or so:

 

dsc033111
State by State: A Panoramic Portait of America
Edited by Matt Weiland and Sean Wilsey

OK, I admit I only bothered with the essays about states where I’ve lived (Massachusetts, Missouri, New Jersey, California, Georgia, Connecticut, New York)  and a few states I like (Montana, Illinois) plus one state I’ve never been to (Colorado). 

And I understand that most writers tend to pack their bags and make their way to NYC as soon as their little writer legs can carry them, but I do wish this book had more contributers who still called their respective states home. I don’t know, maybe it doesn’t matter.  A book based on the WPA travel guides isn’t trying to hide it’s nostalgic nature.  But sometime it was hard for me to get past the feeling that while many of these writers appreciate the places where thye grew up, got married, bought a house, etc. – they’re also pretty glad they escaped.  Completely valid – just narrow.

That being said a lot of these essays were really enjoyable.  In particular, I liked William T. Vollman’s ode to Highway 5 – the ugliest, smelliest, hands-down worst California has to offer.   

 

nan

 

Love from Nancy: The Letters of Nancy Mitford
Edited by Charlotte Mosley

I love letters and I love Mitfords so of course I love this book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 haskell2
Out of My Skin
By John Haskell

This is a book about a writer who becomes a Steve Martin impersonator.  Steve starts to take over his life.  His relationships become more and more complicated by the Steveness.  I think this is a book about acting.  Also psychology.  Also, I think I would have found it all much funnier if I didn’t take two and a half weeks to read it (it’s extremely slim).  Mostly Out of My Skin made me want to re-read I Am Not Jackson Pollock , Haskell’s excellent collection of short stories.

 

 

 

 

Some other books from February:

 

liz-david

An Omelette and A Glass of Wine
by Elizabeth David

You don’t want to see my creepy looking interpretation of this cover. E. David looks like an alien with a drinking problem.  D.M. thinks this is the funniest title that ever was.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
potatoThe Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

I really don’t want to talk about this book.  Or artistically interpret it’s cover (I will, though).  I can get behind some superbad writing and super silly plotlines in the name of a fun fast read, but not in this case. 

 

Here is a conversation I had with D.M. about T.G.L.A.P.P.P.S:

D.M. “Why are you reading that?”

rarface: “My mom gave it to me for x-mas.  It’s supposed to be good.”

D.M. “Isn’t it a bestseller?”

rarface: “so?”

D.M. “What’s it about?”

rarface: “An island full of characters.  Everyone is quirky.  Seriously.  And they like to read.  Also there are nazis on the island.  It’s an epistilary novel.”

D.M. “ha! ha, ha ha”

rarface: “shut up”

Written by rarface

March 17, 2009 at 12:43 pm

Posted in art, books

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really want to see your interpretation of An Omelette and a Glass of Wine!! Mainly because I am interested to see how one would sketch an omelette without making it look like fake vomit.

    Steve-o

    March 17, 2009 at 1:53 pm

  2. Good point Steve.
    Nancy looks so sad

    mary

    March 18, 2009 at 6:41 am

  3. […] paper and glue.  Above is my first cut-and-paste cover.  Y’all know how I feel about TGLAPPPS, so I won’t repeat myself here.  I’m just pleased this potato didn’t come out […]


Leave a Reply

