RAR.

blog saves the day!

old man, look at my hat

with 6 comments

Last week, inspired by a be-hatted girl hanging around The Rolling Stones’s studio in “Sympathy for the Devil,” I bought two wide brimmed black hats on eBay.  The hats are perfect – although on me, the look is way more dirty male singer/songwriter, than mysterious groupie-ingenue.  D.M. and I spent the better part of the weekend trying to figure out exactly which dude I was dressed like.  We thought probably Neil Young, although Mary M. suggested Mick Fleetwood and I believe she may be right. 

rarface in hat.

24 (or 5) and there's so much more.

24 (or 5) and there's so much more.

 

Neil in hat.

keep me searching for my hat of gold.

keep me searching for my hat of gold.

 

Mick in hat.

you could be my silver hat.

you could be my silver hat.

 

Whoever it is – if I’m going to continue to rock this look, clearly I’ll need to grow a beard.

Written by rarface

February 9, 2009 at 10:55 am

Posted in clothes, eBay acquisitions, music

Tagged with ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. is lindsay buckingham wearing socks with platforms?

    mary

    February 10, 2009 at 7:13 am

  2. hahaha. why yes, mary, i think he is… and i agree with you… shan looks like mick with the hat.

    Teresa

    February 10, 2009 at 1:50 pm

  3. i think lindsay b. just had brown cotton-y club feet.

    rarface

    February 10, 2009 at 3:09 pm

  4. […] After putting a total stop to shopping on February 1, I’ve been really fond of wearing the exact same things over and over and over again.  I have about 4-5 outfits, and I just rotate through.  Most of them (even the work-ones) are pretty shlubby.  But here I am, dressed like a fancy-pants!  (ok, I’m also wearing the grey american apparel t-shirt I slept in last night.  Once a schlub, blah blah blah)  I almost cried the first time I saw myself in a suit, in the dressing room of a Tommy Hilfiger store in White Plains.  Ahhhhh, times have changed.  Now I am one of the corporate elite (more like one of their slaves)!  Anyway, my suit is black, and definitely not as cool as the white hot suit-y  below.  But this picture has me wondering what if I added a Neil Young hat… […]

  5. […] According to one youtube commenter, Red Rocks ’86 was the last night Stevie did cocaine.  If you don’t want to watch all 7 minutes of crazy bongo drumming, crazy leather-pants keyboarding, crazy Stevie arm-flapping, let me recommend you fast forward to 4:30 where some random dude shows up on stage, tosses his hair, runs in circles with Stevie for 30 seconds or so, then disappears into the night.  There’s also a good Mick Fleetwood shot at 5:45.  Remember my Mick Fleetwood outfit?  […]

  6. I want that hat – where did you get it!

    H

    March 10, 2011 at 7:58 am


Leave a Reply

