RAR.

blog saves the day!

Resolution-ary Road

with 3 comments

Cheers!!

Cheers!!

I normally don’t make New Years resolutions – but this year I am in resolution-MODE.  So here they all are, in order of no importance:

I resolve not to spend money on stupid things (with particular focus on avoiding clothes that I will never wear.  Ahem, I’m talking about you, white tuxedo jacket).

I resolve to refrence the gazillion cookbooks in my kitchen more often.  If I’m not going to cook from them, they’re just more of the above-mentioned stupid things, bought but not used.

In keeping with my first two resolutions, I resolve to generally make more and buy less.  Did you all like your home-made Christmas presents, by the way? 

Continuing with the DIY theme, I resolve to learn how to mix my own drinks, including:

  • manhattans
  • martinis
  • old fashioneds
  • daiquiris
  • other yummy cocktails from my old savoy cocktail book

To offset the above drink-mixing and drink-tasting and drink-drinking, I resolve not to booze every night.  Imbibe less, but better.  Or something.

And since I’ll have more free (and clear-headed) time to kill when I’m not drinking, I resolve to keep track of all the books I read this year with little sketches in my notebook.  I started doing this a few months ago.  The sketches aren’t any good, but they’re still fun to look back on.   In general, I’d like to keep a notebook/sketchbook/scrapbook consistently throughout the year.

And here’s where I’m tempted by the old “hit the gym” resolution.  But instead of spending more time in a certain sweaty, smelly, un-air conditioned, over-crowded Crunch, I resolve to go outside and walk more.  Ideally, I’d like to start walking to and from work.  Except I am the laziest morning person you’ll ever meet and in the evenings I’m not much better, so we’ll see about this one.

Finally, and because all my herbs were eaten by aphids while I was away for the holidays, I resolve to grow more plants.  And not to kill them.

What are your resolutions little lovelies?  Do tell!

Written by rarface

January 8, 2009 at 12:05 pm

Posted in promises

Tagged with , , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I resolve to religiously read my 365 days of poop calendar to ensure my education on all things fecal matter in order to better contribute when conversing with Shannon at dinner.

    sober capitalist

    January 8, 2009 at 7:03 pm

  2. I like this “make more, buy less” mantra you’ve got going. I might co-opt it for myself!

    Steve-o

    January 12, 2009 at 9:22 am

  3. […] it?  No.  Did I think it was amazing?  Yes.  Want to see the sketch I did in accordance with new year’s resolution #7?  It will be up soon, once I find a scanner that works. Food […]

    By The Way… « RAR.

    January 23, 2009 at 3:09 pm


Leave a Reply

